Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds
Задать вопрос в прямом эфире
16 декабря 2021
Трансгуманизм: за гранью человеческого?

Трансгуманизм — научное и философское движение, в центре внимания которого лежит расширение физических и интеллектуальных возможностей человека, а также продление среднего срока жизни и, более того, — поиск возможностей достичь бессмертия.

Термин «трансгуманизм» ввел британский биолог и философ Джулиан Хаксли в работе «Новые бутылки для нового вина» (New Bottles for New Wine, 1957). Хаксли писал: «Человеческий вид при желании может превосходить самое себя, и это будут не отдельные случаи — здесь одним способом, а там другим, — но прорыв для всего человечества как единого целого. Нам нужно выбрать имя этой новой догме. Возможно, подойдет “трансгуманизм”: человек так и останется человеком, но пре-вознесшимся над собой благодаря осознанию новых возможностей своей природы и для своей природы».

С развитием нанотехнологий, генной инженерии, искусственного интеллекта, «интернета тел» (Internet of Bodies) и многих других ультрасовременных технологий трансгуманисты XXI века получили реальные возможности для работы над изменением самой природы человека. Говоря словами философа Ника Бострома, директора Института будущего человечества при Оксфордском университете, автора гипотезы о том, что наша жизнь может являться компьютерной симуляцией, и одного из самых ярких адептов трансгуманизма, «трансгуманисты считают, что человеческая природа находится в процессе становления и что мы можем научиться формовать это недопеченное существо, как пожелаем. Современное человечество — не обязательно конечная точка эволюции. Трансгуманисты надеются, что, разумно используя науку, технологии и другие средства познания, мы рано или поздно станем постчеловечеством — существами с намного более широкими способностями, нежели современные люди» («Генетическое усовершенствование человека: с позиции трансгуманизма» (Human Genetic Enhancement: A Transhumanist perspective), 2003).

Уже сегодня мир будущего, в котором действуют люди-киборги со сверхспособностями и искусственный интеллект, намного превосходящий человеческий, перестает быть чем-то сугубо из ряда научной фантастики. Ученые всерьез обсуждают такие перспективы развития человечества, как слияние искусственного интеллекта с человеческим, перенос памяти между организмами и загрузка сознания из человеческого мозга в компьютерный. Философы и антропологи предупреждают о возможных рисках, связанных с применением таких технологий, — от полного контроля над действиями человека до тотальной манипуляции его мыслями и желаниями и потери традиционных человеческих ценностей.

Вместе с приглашенными экспертами мы попытаемся разобраться в том, что из новейших технологий уже становится (стало) реальностью, и поговорим об этической стороне последствий этого. Задумаемся над тем, изменит ли реализация идей трансгуманизма устоявшиеся нормы отношений между людьми, и над тем, насколько радикально мы готовы изменить свое тело ради получения тех самых сверхспособностей. Попытаемся найти ту грань «человеческого», за которой нас ждет новая эпоха — эпоха постгуманизма.

Среди спикеров встречи — британский литературовед, культуролог и мыслитель Тимоти Мортон, широко известный своими концепциями кризиса эпохи антропоцена, «более-чем-человеческого» мира и конца привычного мира: «’Мы находимся в состоянии рождения’ — на грани того, чтобы сделаться не постлюдьми, но, впервые в истории, истинными людьми» (Лора Хадсон. В конце мира, повсюду гиперобъекты. (Laura Hudson. At the End of the World, It’s Hyperobjects All the Way Down // WIRED, 2021).
16 декабря 2021, 20.00 UTC+3
Мероприятия программы проводятся в рамках международной программы UK–Russia Creative Bridge 2021–2022 при поддержке Отдела культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве.
спикеры
листайте вправо
Джеймс Дж. Хьюз
Джеймс Дж. Хьюз — биоэтик и социолог, помощник проректора и старший научный сотрудник Центра прикладной этики Массачусетского университета (Бостон). Преподавал биоэтику в Центре клинической медицинской этики Маклина в Чикагском университете, где получил степень доктора социологии. Позднее преподавал политику в области здравоохранения, биоэтику, медицинскую социологию и методы исследования в Северо-Западном университете, Университете Коннектикута и Тринити-колледже. Автор книги «Гражданин киборг: Почему демократические общества должны принять во внимание переделанного человека будущего» (2004), соредактор сборника «Выжить в эпоху машин: Умные технологии и трансформация человеческого труда» (2017). В 2005 г. вместе с оксфордским философом Ником Бостромом стал основателем Института этики и новейших технологий и с тех пор является его исполнительным директором. Заместитель редактора «Журнала по этике и новейшим технологиям» и сооснователь «Журнала постгуманистических исследований». Кроме того, д-р Хьюз читает лекции и участвует в дискуссиях на темы медицинской этики, политики в здравоохранении, футурологии в разных странах мира.
Тимоти Мортон
Тимоти Мортон — заведующий кафедрой английского языка Риты Ши Гаффи в Университете Райса (Хьюстон, США). Работал с Лори Андерсон, Бьорк, Дженнифер Уолш, Храфнхильдур Арнадоттир, Сабриной Скотт, Адамом Маккеем, Джеффом Бриджесом, Олафуром Элиассоном, Фарреллом Уильямсом и Джастином Гуарильей. Соавтор сценария и участник фильма о глобальном потеплении «Жизнь в прошедшем будущего» (2018, продюсер и рассказчик Джефф Бриджес). Автор либретто оперы Дженнифер Уолш «Время Время Время».
Автор книг: «Гипосубъекты: О том, как становятся людьми» (Hyposubjects: On Becoming Human. London: Open Humanities Press, 2021), «Любое искусство экологично» (All Art is Ecological. London: Penguin, 2021), «Космический корабль» (Spacecraft. London: Bloomsbury, 2021), «Стать экологичным» (М.: Ад Маргинем, 2019), «Человечество: Солидарность с племенем нечеловеков» (Humankind: Solidarity with Non-Human People. London: Verso Books, 2017), «Темная экология: Логика будущего сосуществования» (Dark Ecology: For a Logic of Future Coexistence. New York: Columbia University Press, 2016), «Ничто. Три исследования о буддизме» (Nothing: Three Inquiries in Buddhism. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015), «Гиперобъекты: Философия и экология после конца мира» (Пермь: Гиле Пресс, 2019), «Реалистическая магия: Объекты, онтология, каузальность» (Realist Magic: Objects, Ontology, Causality. London: Open Humanities, 2013), «Экологическая мысль» (The Ecological Thought. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2010), «Экология без природы» (Ecology Without Nature: Rethinking Environmental Aesthetics. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2007), а также восьми других книг и 270 статей о философии, экологии, литературе, музыке, искусству, архитектуре, дизайну и еде. Работы Мортона переведены на 11 языков. В 2014 г. Мортон прочитал серию Уэллековских лекций по критической теории в Йельском университете.
Эрик Швицгебель
В большинстве своих работ профессор Эрик Швицгебель исследует связи между эмпирической психологией и философией сознания, в особенности природу верований, ненадежность наших суждений об опыте потока сознания и непрочную взаимосвязь философской этики и действительного морального поведения. Также в фокусе его исследования китайская философия и философская научная фантастика. Его последняя книга — «Теория о придурках и другие злоключения философии» (2019).

Среди других его недавних книг — «Затруднения самосознания» (Perplexities of Consciousness, 2011) и «Описать внутренний опыт? Приверженец против скептика» (совместно с Расселом Т. Халбертом, Describing Inner Experience? Proponent Meets Skeptic, 2007). Он ведет блог «The Splintered Mind» («Расщепленное сознание») — размышления о философии психологии в широком понимании.
Анна Кирикова
Модератор встречи — Анна Кирикова, советник директора по международному сотрудничеству, Манеж. Создатель и программный директор программы NEW NOW.
Публикации
Тимоти Мортон. «Гиперобъекты: философия и экология после конца мира». Пермь: Гиле Пресс, 2019

Публикации
Timothy Morton, Dominic Boyer. hyposubjects: on becoming human. London: Open Humanity Press, 2021.

Подкаст
Timothy Morton. GUEST, GHOST, HOST: MACHINE! // Serpentine Galleries, 2017

Публикации
Донна Харауэй. «Манифест киборгов: наука, технология и социалистический феминизм 1980-х». М.: AdMarginem, Музей современного искусства «Гараж», 2017

Публикации
Донна Харауэй. «Антропоцен, Капиталоцен, Плантациоцен, Ктулуцен: создание племени» // Художественный журнал, 2016

Публикации
Huxley J. Transhumanism // New Bottle for New Wine, 1957

Сайт организации
Humanity+

Публикации
Словарный запас: трансгуманизм // Strelka Mag

Публикации
За рамками биологической эволюции: что такое трансгуманизм // РБК, 2021

Публикации
Рози Брайдотти. «Постчеловек». М.: Изд-во Институт Гайдара, 2021

Видео
Ed Boyden, Mark O’Connell, Marcelo Gleiser. Cyborgs, Futurists, & Transhumanism: A Conversation // Museum of Science, Boston, 2018

Публикации
Рэй Курцвейл. «Эволюция разума». М.: Бомбора, 2018

Публикации
James J. Hughes. Democratic Transhumanism 2.0, 2002

Публикации
Surviving the Machine Age. Intelligent Technology and the Transformation of Human Work / Eds. by James J. Hughes, Kevin LaGrandeur. Cham: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017

Видео
James Hughes w/ Prof. Steve Fuller. Transhuman Politics // Virtual Futures, 2018



Публикации
Марк О’Коннелл. «Искусственный интеллект и будущее человечества». М.: Бомбора, 2019

Публикации
Nick Bostrom. Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016

Публикации
Laura Hudson. At the End of the World, It’s Hyperobjects All the Way Down // WIRED, 2021

Публикации
Talk with Susan B, Levin: The Debate Over Transhumanism // Grécourt Gate, 2021

Публикации
Nick Bostrom. The future of humanity as an inescapable topic // New Waves in Philosophy of Technology. New York: Palgrave McMillan, 2009

Публикации
Nick Bostrom. Why I Want to be a Posthuman When I Grow Up // Medical Enhancement and Posthumanity. New York: Springer, 2008

Публикации
Nick Bostrom. Transhumanist Values // Ethical Issues for the 21st Century, 2003

Публикации
Nick Bostrom. The Transhumanist FAQ, 2003

Публикации
Eric Drexler. Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology. New York: Anchor, 1987

Публикации
Роберт Эттингер. «Перспективы бессмертия». М.: Научный мир, 2003

Публикации
Фрэнсис Фукуяма. «Наше постчеловеческое будущее. Последствия биотехнологической революции». М.: АСТ, 2004

Публикации
James Hughes. Citizen Cyborg: Why Democratic Societies Must Respond to the Redesigned Human of the Future. New York: Basic Book, 2004

Видео
Eric Schwitzgebel, Maris Garza. The Right of Artificial Intelligence // The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence at NYU, 2020

Публикации
Interview with Eric Schwitzgebel: On Crazyism, Jerkitude, Garden Snails and Other Philosophical Puzzles // Scientific American, 2020

Подписывайтесь на новости NEWNOW

Ask a question live
16 december 2021
Transhumanism: Beyond the Human Frontier?

Transhumanism is a global scientific and philosophical movement whose followers seek to achieve a radical enhancement of humanity’s physical and intellectual capacities and strive to significantly improve the average human life expectancy, paving the way for us to one day attain immortality.

The term Transhumanism in its contemporary sense was coined and popularized by British biologist and philosopher Julian Huxley in his book of essays New Bottles for New Wine. Huxley wrote:
‘‘The human species can, if it wishes, transcend itself – not just sporadically, an individual here in one way, an individual there in another way, but in its entirety, as humanity. We need a name for this new belief. Perhaps transhumanism will serve: man remaining man, but transcending himself, by realizing new possibilities of and for his human nature.’’ (Julian Huxley, New Bottles for New Wine, 1957).

Following the arrival of ultramodern inventions such as nanotechnology, genetic engineering, artificial intelligence (AI), the Internet of Bodies (IoB), and many others, 21st-century transhumanists are now in a position to begin altering human nature itself. In the words of philosopher Nick Bostrom, founding director of the Future of Humanity Institute at Oxford University, originator of such theories as The Simulation Argument and Intelligence Explosion, and one of the most vocal proponents of transhumanism, “Transhumanists view human nature as a work-in-progress, a half-baked beginning that we can learn to remold in desirable ways. Current humanity need not be the endpoint of evolution. Transhumanists hope that by responsible use of science, technology, and other rational means we shall eventually manage to become post-human, beings with vastly greater capacities than present human beings have.” (Nick Bostrom, Human Genetic Enhancement: A Transhumanist Perspective, 2003)

Today the world of the future – populated by radically enhanced humans and run by greater-than-human artificial intelligence – has ceased to be the stuff of science fiction. Scientists are seriously discussing such prospects of human development as brain-computer integration, memory transfer, and mind uploading. Philosophers and anthropologists warn about the risks likely to arise in the wake of deploying such technology, ranging from wide-ranging control over human behavior to complete manipulation of people’s thoughts and wishes and the disappearance of traditional human values.

Together with our guest experts, we will try to identify the latest technology that has either already become a reality or is currently in development, focusing on the ethical aspects of the consequences that ensue. We will reflect on the question of whether the realization of transhumanist ideas is likely to entail a radical change in the ways people relate to one another. How far are we prepared to go in changing our bodies in order to attain these enhanced capacities? We will attempt to identify the “human frontier”, beyond which the era of posthumanism awaits.

One of the featured presenters is British thinker and literary historian Timothy Morton, widely known for his concepts of the Anthropocene Crisis, the “more-than-human world”, and the end of the world as we know it. ‘‘’We’re being born now’ — standing on the precipice not of becoming post-human but becoming truly human for the first time”.
(Laura Hudson. At the End of the World, It’s Hyperobjects All the Way Down // WIRED, 2021).

16 December 2021, 8 p.m. UTC+3
The event is part of the international UK–Russia Creative Bridge programme 2021–2022 supported by the Cultural and Education Section of the British Embassy in Moscow
speakers
scroll right
James “J.” Hughes
James “J.” Hughes Ph.D. is a bioethicist and sociologist who serves as the Associate Provost for the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMB), and as Senior Research Fellow at UMB's Center for Applied Ethics. He holds a doctorate in Sociology from the University of Chicago where he taught bioethics at the MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics. Since then Dr. Hughes has taught health policy, bioethics, medical sociology and research methods at Northwestern University, the University of Connecticut, and Trinity College. Dr. Hughes is author of Citizen Cyborg: Why Democratic Societies Must Respond to the Redesigned Human of the Future (2004) and is co-editor of Surviving the Machine Age: Intelligent Technology and the Transformation of Human Work (2017). In 2005 Dr. Hughes co-founded the Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies (IEET) with Oxford philosopher Nick Bostrom, and since then has served as its Executive Director. Dr. Hughes serves as Associate Editor of the Journal of Ethics and Emerging Technologies, and as co-founder of the Journal of Posthuman Studies. Dr. Hughes speaks on medical ethics, health care policy and future studies worldwide.
Timothy Morton
Timothy Morton is Rita Shea Guffey Chair in English at Rice University. They have collaborated with Laurie Anderson, Björk, Jennifer Walshe, Hrafnhildur Arnadottir, Sabrina Scott, Adam McKay, Jeff Bridges, Olafur Eliasson, Pharrell Williams and Justin Guariglia. Morton co-wrote and appears in Living in the Future’s Past, a 2018 film about global warming with Jeff Bridges. They are the author of the libretto for the opera Time Time Time by Jennifer Walshe.
Morton has written Hyposubjects: On Becoming Human (London: Open Humanities Press, 2021), All Art is Ecological (London: Penguin, 2021), Spacecraft (London: Bloomsbury, 2021), Being Ecologocal (London: Penguin, 2018), Humankind: Solidarity with Non-Human People (London: Verso Books, 2017), Dark Ecology: For a Logic of Future Coexistence (New York: Columbia University Press, 2016), Nothing: Three Inquiries in Buddhism (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015), Hyperobjects: Philosophy and Ecology after the End of the World (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2013), Realist Magic: Objects, Ontology, Causality (London: Open Humanities, 2013), The Ecological Thought (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2010), Ecology Without Nature: Rethinking Environmental Aesthetics (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2007), eight other books and 270 essays on philosophy, ecology, literature, music, art, architecture, design and food. Morton’s work has been translated into eleven languages. In 2014 they gave the Wellek Lectures in Critical Theory.
Eric Schwitzgebel
Most of Professor Eric Schwitzgebel research explores connections between empirical psychology and philosophy of mind, especially the nature of belief, the inaccuracy of our judgments about our stream of conscious experience, and the tenuous relationship between philosophical ethics and actual moral behavior. His most recent book is A Theory of Jerks and Other Philosophical Misadventures (2019). He also works on classical Chinese philosophy and philosophical science fiction.

His other recent books include Perplexities of Consciousness, MIT Press (2011) and Describing Inner Experience? Proponent Meets Skeptic, with Russell T. Hurlburt, MIT Press (2007). He blogs at The Splintered Mind — reflections on philosophy of psychology, broadly construed. 


Anna Kirikova
Event moderated by Anna Kirikova, Director of International Projects, Manege.
Creator and programme director of NEW NOW programme.
Publication
Huxley J. Transhumanism // New Bottle for New Wine, 1957

Publication
Ray Kurzweil. The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology. New York: Penguin Books, 2006

Publication
Donna Haraway. A Cyborg Manifesto: Science, Technology, and Socialist-Feminism in the Late Twentieth Century // Simians, Cyborgs, and Women: The Reinvention of Nature. Abingdon: Routledge, 1990.

Publication
Donna Haraway. Anthropocene, Capitalocene, Plantationocene, Chthulucene: Making Kin // Environmental Humanities, 2015

Publication
Timothy Morton. ​​​​Humankind: Solidarity with Non-Human People. London: Verso Books, 2017

Publication
Timothy Morton, Dominic Boyer. hyposubjects: on becoming human. London: Open Humanity Press, 2021

Podcast
Timothy Morton. GUEST, GHOST, HOST: MACHINE! // Serpentine Galleries, 2017

Publication
Nick Bostrom. Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016

Publication
Laura Hudson. At the End of the World, It’s Hyperobjects All the Way Down // WIRED, 2021

Publication
Talk with Susan B, Levin: The Debate Over Transhumanism // Grécourt Gate, 2021

Publication
Nick Bostrom. The future of humanity as an inescapable topic // New Waves in Philosophy of Technology. New York: Palgrave McMillan, 2009

Publication
James J. Hughes. Democratic Transhumanism 2.0, 2002

Video
Eric Schwitzgebel, Maris Garza. The Right of Artificial Intelligence // The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence at NYU, 2020

Publication
Eric Schwitzgebel. Kant Meets Cyberpunk // Disputatio, 2019
Subscribe to the newsletter
How did you find out about New Now?